Environmental Health & Safety Staff Listing

Biosafety Group, Chemical Safety Group, Public Health Group

Philip Barruel, MS

Biosafety Officer and Manager for Biosafety, Chemical Safety, and Controlled Substances Programs
prbarruel@ucdavis.edu
530-752-1777

Biosafety Group

biosafety@ucdavis.edu

Controlled Substances

cs-info@ucdavis.edu

Biosafety Group

Name Position Contact Notes
Chelsea Schiano High-Containment Facility Officer

caschiano@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8589
530-601-6360 cell

Contact for BSL-3 facilities and Select Agents
Vivian Xian Associate Biosafety Officer

vmxian@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8608
530-330-9392 cell

 
Adrienne Zweifel Associate Biosafety Officer azweifel@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8674
530-979-7016 cell
Contact for questions about Aerosol Transmissible Pathogens and Biosafety Lab Visits
Lisa Dalbeck Assistant Biosafety Officer

ldalbeck@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9338
530-574-8160 cell

Main contact for BUAs

Chemical Safety Group

Name Position Contact Notes
Karen Gagnon, PhD Campus Chemical Hygiene Officer mkgagnon@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7194 
530-379-9149 cell
 
Phil Painter, PhD Associate Chemical Hygiene Officer ppainter@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9219 
530-312-5327 cell

Cheminformatics, and ChemTag

Travis Burns Chem/Biosafety Specialist    

Public Health Group

Name Position Contact
Sarah Quezada, REHS Environmental Health Program Coordinator squezada@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3572
530-312-6592 cell
Amrit Kaur, REHS Public Health Specialist

amrkaur@ucdavis.edu
530-754-1515
530-902-2205 cell


Environmental Compliance Group, LEHR Group, Industrial Hygiene Group, Environmental Services Facility Group

Chris Wright

Environmental Compliance Manager
cvwright@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3044
530-681-1793

Environmental Safety

enviro@ucdavis.edu

Industrial Hygiene/Safety

healthandsafety@ucdavis.edu

Environmental Compliance Group

Name Position Contact
Aimee Pfohl Lead Air/Stormwater/Soil Specialist ajpfohl@ucdavis.edu
530-754-5267
530-979-6723 cell
Marsha Erickson Air/Water/Soil Specialist mserickson@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0675
530-760-7012 cell

Environmental Services Facility Group

hazwaste@ucdavis.edu

Name Position Contact
Pat Ruchirushkul, CHMM Environmental Services Facility Manager pruchi@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9718
530-681-1791 cell
Chanda Mansfield Principal Hazardous Waste Technician ckmansfield@ucdavis.edu
530-681-6451 cell
Dan Orovich, CHMM Hazardous Waste Technician deorovich@ucdavis.edu
530-752-4035
530-681-1851 cell
Troy Wenham Senior Hazardous Waste Technician tnwenham@ucdavis.edu
530-754-4879
530-681-0502 cell
Vacant Hazardous Waste Technician  

Industrial Hygiene Group

healthandsafety@ucdavis.edu

Name Position Contact
Wesley Frey, CIH Lead Industrial Hygienist wbfrey@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0881
530-979-7008 cell
Vacant Industrial Hygienist  
Luis Trani Industrial Hygienist lftrani@ucdavis.edu
530-754-1486
530-681-1809 cell

LEHR Group

Name Position Contact
Rachel Lauesen LEHR Project Engineer rllauesen@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9184
530-312-4535 cell

Field Safety, Occupational Safety, Laboratory Safety, Pesticide/HazCom, Radiation/Laser/Dosimetry

Rebecca Grunewald

Laboratory, Radiation, Laser & Field Safety Manager
bgrunewald@ucdavis.edu
researchsafety@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9147
530-848-1514 cell

Field Safety

Name Position Contact
Heather Spaulding Field Safety Specialist hspaulding@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9213
530-312-5806 cell

Occupational Safety

Name Position Contact
Julia Means, CSP Lead Occupational Safety Specialist jameans@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3376
530-848-1516 cell

 

Stephen Ball, MBA, COHC

IIPP Program/Safety Specialist

sdball@ucdavis.edu
530-754-5876
530-681-1794 cell

Leonel Edwards

Occupational Safety Specialist

ltedwards@ucdavis.edu
530-574-7708 cell

Laboratory Safety

Name Position Contact Notes
Veronica Thron Lab Safety Review Program Supervisor vthron@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7580
530-902-0515 cell
 
Loan-Anh Nguyen Laboratory Safety Professional longuyen@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9803
530-848-1422 cell
> College of Engineering
> College of Letters & Science
Tarran Richardson Laboratory Safety Professional tarichardson@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9813
530-848-1479
> School of Veterinary Medicine
> School of Medicine
Tony Schrick Laboratory Safety Professional tschrick@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7048
530-848-1569 cell
> College of Agriculture & Environmental Science
> Department of Chemistry
Kristina S Zumstein Laboratory Safety Professional kmsarte@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8593
530-848-1510 cell

> College Biological Sciences
> School of Medicine

Pesticide/HazCom

Name Position Contact
Bernadette Tano Program Coordinator, Industrial Hygiene Specialist btano@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9745
530-681-1807 cell

Radiation/Laser/Dosimetry

Name Position Contact
Lina Planutyte Associate Radiation Safety Officer

lplanutyte@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9991
530-312-4549 cell

Marci Hayes Radiation, Dosimetry, Controlled Substances Specialist mdhayes@ucdavis.edu
530-754-7985
530-681-1816
Felipe Penilla Campus Laser/X-ray Safety Officer fjpenilla@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3579
530-681-1792 cell