Environmental Health & Safety Staff Listing

Biosafety Group, Chemical Safety Group, Public Health Group

Philip Barruel, MS

Biosafety Officer and Manager for Biosafety, Chemical Safety, and Controlled Substances Programs
prbarruel@ucdavis.edu
530-752-1777

Biosafety Group

Name Position Contact Notes
Chelsea Schiano High-Containment Facility Officer caschiano@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8589
Contact for BSL-3 facilities and Select Agents
Vivian Xian Associate Biosafety Officer vmxian@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8608
Main contact for BUAs
Adrienne Zweifel Associate Biosafety Officer azweifel@ucdavis.edu
530-979-7016
Contact for questions about Aerosol Transmissible Pathogens and Biosafety Lab Visits
Vacant Assistant Biosafety Officer    

Chemical Safety Group

Name Position Contact Notes
Karen Gagnon, PhD Campus Chemical Hygiene Officer mkgagnon@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7194 ph
530-379-9149 cell
 
Phil Painter, PhD Associate Chemical Hygiene Officer ppainter@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9219 ph
530-312-5327 cell
Cheminformatics, and ChemTag

Public Health Group

Name Position Contact
Sarah Quezada, REHS Environmental Health Program Coordinator squezada@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3572
530-312-6592 cell
Amrit Kaur, REHS Public Health Specialist amrkaur@ucdavis.edu

Environmental Compliance Group, LEHR Group, Industrial Hygiene Group, Environmental Services Facility Group

Chris Wright

Environmental Compliance Manager
cvwright@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3044
530-681-1793
916-416-3984

Environmental Compliance Group

Name Position Contact
Aimee Pfohl Lead Air/Stormwater/Soil Specialist ajpfohl@ucdavis.edu
530-754-5267
Marsha Erickson Air/Water/Soil Specialist mserickson@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0675
530-760-7012

Environmental Services Facility Group

Name Position Contact
Pat Ruchirushkul, CHMM Environmental Services Facility Manager pruchi@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9718
530-681-1791 cell
Chanda Mansfield Principal Hazardous Waste Technician ckmansfield@ucdavis.edu
Dan Orovich, CHMM Hazardous Waste Technician deorovich@ucdavis.edu
530-752-4035
530-681-1851 cell
Kevin Phelps Hazardous Waste Technician kphelps@ucdavis.edu
530-681-1805 cell
Troy Wenham Senior Hazardous Waste Technician tnwenham@ucdavis.edu
530-681-0502 cell

Industrial Hygiene Group

Name Position Contact
Wesley Frey, CIH Lead Industrial Hygiene Specialist wbfrey@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0881
Suman Dhal, MPH Industrial Hygiene Specialist sdhal@ucdavis.edu
530-754-0634
530-848-1507 cell
Luis Trani Industrial Hygienist lftrani@ucdavis.edu
530-754-1486
530-681-1809 cell

LEHR Group

Name Position Contact
Rachel Lauesen LEHR Project Engineer rllauesen@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9184
530-312-4535

Field Safety, Industrial Safety, Laboratory Safety, Pesticide/HazCom, Radiation/Laser/Dosimetry

Rebecca Grunewald

Laboratory, Radiation, Laser & Field Safety Manager
bgrunewald@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9147
530-848-1514 cell

Field Safety

Name Position Contact
Heather Spaulding Field Safety Specialist hspaulding@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9213
530-312-5806 cell

Industrial Safety

Name Position Contact
Julia Means, CSP Industrial Safety Specialist jameans@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3376
530-848-1516 cell

 

Stephen Ball, MBA, COHC

IIPP Program/Safety Specialist sdball@ucdavis.edu
530-754-5876
530-681-1794 cell

Industrial Safety Specialist

Vacant

 

Laboratory Safety

Name Position Contact Notes
Veronica Thron Lab Safety Review Program Supervisor vthron@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7580
 
John Lomas Laboratory Safety Professional jlomas@ucdavis.edu
530-752-8593
530-848-1510 cell
> College Biological Sciences
> School of Medicine
Loan-Anh Nguyen Laboratory Safety Professional longuyen@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9803
530-848-1422 cell
> College of Engineering
> College of Letters & Science
Tarran Richardson Laboratory Safety Professional tarichardson@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9813
530-848-1479

> School of Veterinary Medicine
> School of Medicine

Tony Schrick Laboratory Safety Professional tschrick@ucdavis.edu
530-752-7048
530-848-1569 cell

> College of Agriculture & Environmental Science
> Department of Chemistry

Pesticide/HazCom

Name Position Contact
Bernadette Tano Program Coordinator, Industrial Hygiene Specialist btano@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9745
530-681-1807 cell

Radiation/Laser/Dosimetry

Name Position Contact
Lina Planutyte Associate Radiation Safety Officer

lplanutyte@ucdavis.edu
530-752-9991
530-312-4549 cell

Marci Hayes Radiation, Dosimetry, Controlled Substances Specialist mdhayes@ucdavis.edu
530-754-7985
530-681-1816
Felipe Penilla Campus Laser/X-ray Safety Officer fjpenilla@ucdavis.edu
530-752-3579
530-681-1792 cell